HAPPY VALENTINES DAY!!!!

Ok so I know I’ve been MIA for a couple of weeks now. Shame on me. *slaps hand* 

However I have been busy/computerproblems/lazy/stuff

So do you want to hear something pretty cool?

Image

This is a giant supernova remnant called W49B which was observed by Chandra and is believed to have the newest blackhole in the Milky Way System. Cool right? If you wanna read more (http://www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/chandra/multimedia/w49b.html) go ask NASA.

The reason this is relevant is because I am on Spoonflower.com right now trying to use that image as a fabric pattern because it would make a GORGEOUS skirt or dress or shirt or anything! And who doesn’t want to wear a distorted supernova remnant?!

Speaking of wearing geeky clothes…I have the best Valentine’s shirt ever courtesy of my boyfriend who so lovingly creeped on my Facebook/Pinterest to find out what I wanted before I could subtly hint at him what I wanted (by subtly hint I mean I sent him a link saying “I want this so badly”).

Image

http://www.thinkgeek.com/product/e749/

I ❤ this shirt it makes me super happy. And what makes it better is that my roommate/best college friend has a similar shirt so if he remembered to wear it today (he probably didn’t cuz he’s a guy and a computer scientist) we will kind of match! With makes me happier than it should ^_^.

I just placed my supernova order eeeee!!!!

So I didn’t take pictures of the valentines I made for everyone sadly but I sent out a boatload of valentines over last week and this week and made one for (almost) everyone that I wanted to give one to. The vast majority of them were monster valentines, though I did make one for my roommate Kelsey which said I WOULD KILL to be with YOU. It suits our love/hate relationship. And my sister made me the bestest valentine ever! Hopefully I’ll remember to post pictures when I get back to the apartment tonight. She got me a jar of Reeses Pieces which said “I love you to pieces” and made me a card which read “Stalker is such a harsh term…I prefer valentine!” I am proud of her.

So on a random note I’m at a Starbucks on campus and I really want to score one of the spinny seats by the windows and I’ve been sitting here for about half an hour now at least and this guy finally got up and left but his lunch box is still there so I assume he’s coming back which makes me sad…but he’s been gone a long time. I want to claim that set of chairs…grrr

SPINNY CHAIRS!!! bonus with an outlet near enough to charge my laptop

we’re not going to talk about the fact that I just managed to flip over the table near the chair by putting my feet on it and it flipped over QUITE LOUDLY and stuff fell everywhere. That didn’t happen. I don’t have anywhere to put my feet now.

So I’ve been looking up the origins of valentine’s day so I can intelligently counteract all of the people who keep saying it’s a holiday invented by Hallmark and I vaguely remembered something in elementary school about St. Valentine being locked in jail or something. It turns out that which St. Valentine the name originates from is debated but from what I could find in my 10 minutes of googling is that supposedly a Roman emperor decided single men would fight better than married men so he outlawed marriage for young men and Valentine kept marrying young couples anyway (stick it to the man!) and was imprisoned and fell in love with the jailer’s daughter and signed a letter to her “your valentine.” Cute ^_^. There’s also something about a pagan ritual involving hitting women with goat hide dipped in blood and sexcapades and such around the same time, hence Valentine’s day is on the day it is. Oh and birds’ mating season supposedly starts around now too. Yes, let us all celebrate birds mating????

The first valentine is said by the internet to be written by Charles, Duke of Orleans to his wife while he was imprisoned.  This is what it said:

Je suis desja d’amour tanné
Ma tres doulce Valentinée

[I am already sick of love,
My very gentle Valentine
]

So HA! it was not created by Hallmark and it’s NOT singles awareness day since the pagan holiday (Lupercalia) involved all the single men and single women getting it on and potentially getting married afterwards if they liked each other (or liked getting it on with each other). So even though you could argue that was making everyone very aware of who was single, it wasn’t making them lonely. It was making them laid. 

Singles should just start celebrating Lupercalia again, except with less sacrificing and more protection. 

If you want to read anything else about the origins of Valentine’s Day and are too lazy to Google things on your own here is where I got most of my info (http://www.history.com/topics/valentines-day) and I thought this was just funny because npr (http://www.npr.org/2011/02/14/133693152/the-dark-origins-of-valentines-day)

HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY EVERYONE! EAT LOTS OF CANDY AND CUPCAKES! oh and happy early candy-sales day!

Leave a Reply

