Coffee Shop Shenanigans

So lately I have found that I seem to be living in coffee shops.  There is absolutely nothing wrong with that, other than it’s making me either super chill or super distracted depending on if I drink tea or coffee and how much I have. Today I got up to travel to Starbucks in the hopes that I would be able to ascertain a seat with an outlet (which I achieved through the magic of the coffee house but that’s a later story).  When I stood up I donned my coat and started to button it when I realized I am going to have a dilemma: once I drink my coffee I will probably not be in any state to button my jacket before I voyage to my next class. I can barely button all the buttons as it is! (it’s a fancy-esque coat which comes down to knees and employs a multitude of buttons in order to retain it’s fanciness.  I dressed up today for a luncheon for women in engineering. Business Appropriate Wednesday has been happening alot lately).  But I had already put away all of my things and stood up and was obviously leaving so my choices were either to go find somewhere else on a different floor to sit and charge my computer instead or to deal with the buttons with confidence and face my problems like a man! This was a time to persevere! To press on! For Life! For Liberty! For Coffee! 

no I haven’t had more than a sip of this coffee yet lol. I’m just having a silly day.  And I started looking up coffee quotes and in the spirit of being a coffee-house hobo I’d like to share some with you

Image

I think we all pray to the first cup of the day. It’s a silent prayer, sung while the mind is still foggy and blue. “O Magic Cup,” it might go, “carry me above the traffic jam. Keep me civil in the subway. And forgive my employer, as you forgive me. Amen”
~Stewert Lee Allen

He was my cream, and I was his coffee – And when you poured us together, it was something.
~Josephine Baker

Behind every successful woman is a substantial amount of coffee.
~Stephanie Piro

Image

In Seattle you haven’t had enough coffee until you can thread a sewing machine while it’s running.
~Jeff Bezos

Retirement is one great big giant coffee break.
~Author Unknown

Do I like my coffee black? There are other colors?
~Author Unknown

It is inhumane, in my opinion, to force people who have a genuine medical need for coffee to wait in line behind people who apparently view it as some kind of recreational activity. I bet this kind of thing does not happen to heroin addicts. I bet that when serious heroin addicts go to purchase their heroin, they do not tolerate waiting in line while some dilettante in front of them orders a hazelnut smack-a-cino with cinnamon sprinkles.
~Dave Barry

Image

I took a break to look for coffee related music and found this 

it is hilarious lol

Image

Coffee is real good when you drink it it gives you time to think. It’s a lot more than just a drink; it’s something happening. Not as in hip, but like an event, a place to be, but not like a location, but like somewhere within yourself. It gives you time, but not actual hours or minutes, but a chance to be, like be yourself, and have a second cup.
~Gertrude Stein

Coffee: we can get it anywhere, and get as loaded as we like on it, until such teeth-chattering, eye-bulging, nonsense-gibbering time as we may be classified unable to operate heavy machinery.
~Joan Frank

Image

Black as the devil, Hot as hell,
Pure as an angel, Sweet as love.
~Charles Maurice de Talleyrand-Perigord

I have measured out my life with coffee spoons. ~T.S. Eliot

 

The Coffee Song by Frank Sinatra is a song I’m rather fond of (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vVGXcjM9SOQ)

I’m going to make a playlist of coffee songs! 

Image

Leave a Reply

