A Typical Day in the Life of a teenage girl in the late 90s.

It has recently come to my attention that buzzfeed has an article published called ‘The Typical Day of a Teenage Girl in the Late ’90s.’  Now, while I was not officially a teenager until 2005, I am super glad I grew up neither typical nor like that!

here’s the link i you want to read the article without my commentary

1. Wake up to your CD alarm clock playing “NOW That’s What I Call Music Vol. 1.”

 

Wake up to your CD alarm clock playing "NOW That's What I Call Music Vol. 1."

Featuring Backstreet Boys, Spice Girls, Fastball, Aqua, Marcy Playground, and more. (We’re now up to Volume 45 as of February 2013.)

Soooo I remember the NOW cds.  I liked maybe 3 of them. I admit, I don’t remember the first one, and I did go through a stage where I listened to Britney Spears and N’Sync..but only because my mom bought the Britney Spears/N’Sync cd from McDonalds and really when I was younger I listened to ANY music, I just really like music

Image

 

2. Take a shower and wash your hair with Herbal Essences shampoo.

 

Take a shower and wash your hair with Herbal Essences shampoo.

Try to forget those “totally organic experience” TV commercials while you lather up.

I remember those bottles! My grandma had those! At least I think that’s what she had, I always thought the bottles looked super cool. I had no idea ‘organic experience’ was such a big deal to teens in the 90’s. At least it’s better than the ‘orgasmic experience’ that’s so important to teens these days. And I did start using herbal essence…when I was about 17 or 18 because my best friend’s brother had some and I used it when I was showering at her house one morning and really liked it. But now it looks something like this 

Image

 

And heck, I still use it. Mainly because I can’t afford anything more expensive. Though I do alternate with Organix Teatree Mint. So I guess I’m getting the organic experience?

3. Put on cargo pants, a baby-doll tee, platform sandals, plastic stretch tattoo necklace, butterfly hair clips, and multiple earrings from Claire’s.

 

Put on cargo pants, a baby-doll tee, platform sandals, plastic stretch tattoo necklace, butterfly hair clips, and multiple earrings from Claire's.

You’re a walking Delia’s advertisement.

Those shoes! Again, my grandma wears something similar (though hers aren’t platforms. Maybe she should invest in those shoes since she’s like 4 ft 10 or something).  That looks like what young teens/kids wore when I was growing up. As in 5th grade, shopping at Limited Too type clothing. Just with less pink. 

4. Spray yourself with Gap perfume.

 

Spray yourself with Gap perfume.

You not only had the spray, but the candle, the body wash, the lotion, the roll-on…

I honestly have never smelled gap perfume. When I was in elementary/middle school it was all about the cotton candy scented perfume that one of my friends bought from Rite Aid. What can I say, I always like smelling like delicious delicious food. As of now, my favorite lotiony thing from Bath and Body Works is the black raspberry vanilla…even though they’re discontinuing that soon 😥

Image I still think this smells good

5. Don’t forget the glitter!

 

Don't forget the glitter!

You have more stackable pots and rollers than an aisle at Michael’s craft store.

Now, judging by the shock anyone and everyone who doesn’t make a living by clubbing gives me when I put on my makeup (which is glitter, glitter, rhinestones, and some eyeliner) and how hard it is to find as much glitter makeup as I would like, I assume this just never caught on in my area. Because I would so love to have easy access to glitter makeup rather than finding the few places that sell it and spending all of my money. I have yet to find a good supplier of roll on glitter–I stole a tube of it from one of my little sisters play make-up kits she got for christmas when she was maybe 7.  What happened to all of the glitter?!?!?!

6. The first thing you say to your friends at school isn’t “Hello”…

 

The first thing you say to your friends at school isn't "Hello"...

It’s, “Ohmigawd, can you believe what happened on Buffy/7th Heaven/Dawson’s Creek last night?”

Still happens, I think, in other friend groups. Ours usually started with “I HATE YOU MARISSA” “I love you too Kelsey” “STUDENTS GET OUT OF THE HALLWAY YOU’RE BLOCKING EVERYTHING  *meanwhile tons of space is open* “I MEAN YOU MARISSA SHAFFER”  that teacher is another story for another time

7. Pictures of NSYNC or Backstreet Boys (never both) adorn your locker

 

Pictures of NSYNC or Backstreet Boys (never both) adorn your locker

It’s either Nick or Justin. Pick a side.

I never decorate my locker? But one of my older friends was way obsessed with either N’Sync or the Backstreet Boys I don’t remember which. She has all the puppet people and such. Or she did, I’m sure she doesn’t anymore and if she does I haven’t seen them behind all of the Dr. Who and Nightmare Before Christmas paraphernalia.

8. If “Heathers” were made a decade later, it would’ve been named “Jessicas.”

 

If "Heathers" were made a decade later, it would've been named "Jessicas."

Because you had a minimum of three in your class. Likely more.

True dat. Funnily enough, my sister’s name is Jessica. And there are Jessicas and Heathers in abundance in her classes.

9. Check the time on your beeper.

 

Check the time on your beeper.

Only one of your friends had a cell phone, and she only used it to call her parents to pick her up after school.

Children had beepers? I think not. You checked the time on your WRIST WATCH which probably came out of a CEREAL BOX or something. Nobody used beepers! Unless I just grew up in hicksville where nobody did things right (wait a minute…I may have).  Nobody had cell phones either most of the time. (well until I was in high school. But teens in the late 90s didn’t have cell phones…they had watches or they just looked at the clocks on the walls. and they knew how to read an analog clock. Surprise surprise)

10. Ignore what’s happening in statistics class.

 

Ignore what's happening in statistics class.

You’re playing Tetris or Snake on your TI-83 Plus graphing calculator.

Basically. Except my school doesn’t offer statistics. But I would ignore it if they did

11. Type up your college essay on a Gateway in computer class.

 

Type up your college essay on a Gateway in computer class.

Try to sneak online, but the 28.8k modem gives you away. Play Minesweeperinstead.

My brother (who is older and was almost a teen in the late 90s) did play minesweeper alot. I never picked it up until recently because he wouldn’t explain it to me when I was younger and I thought you had to guess all of the mines.  We didn’t have a computer class in high school, unless you count typing. You write your college essays on your own time.

12. College is *so* going to be like “Felicity.”

 

College is *so* going to be like "Felicity."

And you’re totally going to school in New York City.

I don’t know what this is. so I withhold comment

13. Plan your senior yearbook quote years ahead.

 Fight with your friend over who gets to include Green Day’s “Good Riddance.” Settle on Semisonic’s “Closing Time” instead.
 
I hope nobody did this. I don’t think we even got senior quotes…the people who planned our yearbook were too busy sneaking text penises into the sports section and such.  My brother’s year got quotes and I did like the ones that were in there but I hope people had better things to do than to be like “hmmm what quote do I want to put in the yearbook” but I’m sure they didn’t.
 

14. Lunch always includes Fruitopia or Snapple.

 

Lunch always includes Fruitopia or Snapple.

And you saved all of your Snapple Facts caps.

Snapple was better. Because of the bottles

Image

15. Pore over the latest Alloy, Girlfriend’s LA, and Delia’s catalogs with your friends.

 

Pore over the latest Alloy, Girlfriend's LA, and Delia's catalogs with your friends.

Decide to order some shirts with names of snowboard and surfing companies on them, even though you’ve never done either sport.

I used to want to order skateboarding shirts from my brother’s CCS magazine but that’s as close as this gets. My best friend and I used to go through the teen magazines her parent’s bought her and draw in them to improve the outfits or to make fun of the advice.

16. Listen to the Spice Girls on your Discman while riding the bus home.

 

Listen to the Spice Girls on your Discman while riding the bus home.

Lie to your friends and say it’s actually The Offspring’s Americana.

I had a discman! and a walkman! 

Imagetalk about oldschool

17. Open the mailbox when you get home.

 

Open the mailbox when you get home.

Your YM and Seventeen subscriptions arrived!

These are the ones we made fun of!

18. But you have more important things to do…

 

But you have more important things to do...

Like sign on to AOL, email everyone a 50-question survey about yourself in Comic Sans MS, and say important things like “A/S/L?” in chat rooms. LOL 😉

Internet? What’s that? Though my uncle still has the wacky aol dialup stuff at his house

19. Update your Angelfire or Geocities website

 

The Typical Day Of A Teenage Girl In The Late '90s

Don’t forget neon text, rainbow dividers, and spinning GIFs!

I assume that was the facebook and myspace of then? Wait…I thought myspace was the myspace of then…and myyearbook

20. Get knocked off of AOL when your brother picks up the phone.

 

Get knocked off of AOL when your brother picks up the phone.

Yell. Loudly.

As I remember it, that didn’t kick you off of dialup. They just had to listen to the robot voice on the phone until I got offline. Or come unplug my connection

21. Pop the mixtape your friend made you into your stereo while you do your homework.

 

Pop the mixtape your friend made you into your stereo while you do your homework.

Those final days before Napster and CD burning.

I made loads of mixtapes. I still make loads of mix cds. My friends, sadly, never picked up the craze from me.

22. Watch your favorite TV show and call your friends during every commercial break.

 

Watch your favorite TV show and call your friends during every commercial break.

You never missed an episode, whether it was Buffy7th HeavenCharmedFelicitiy, or Dawson’s Creek.

or just annoyingly stay on the phone but don’t speak during the show so your parents and/or siblings want to kill you ^_^

23. Fall asleep under the stars.

 

Fall asleep under the stars.

Or at least the glow-in-the-dark ones you bought at Spencer’s.

I wish! I still want to put glow in the dark stars all over my next apartment

 

Leave a Reply

