My Love Affair

AKA all I can think about is food

#whyistheinternetsofulloffood

#WHYPINTERESTANDFOODGAWKER

So yeah…..food. If I’m not hungry (which does happen sometimes believe it or not) I want to cook.  Which really begs the question of why am I in engineering…anywhoo…

I don’t really have anything in particular to talk about and haven’t for awhile but I would like to get back into blogging if for no other reason than I think it feels fun for my fingers to type and books are too much commitment and the only things I usually type for class are math based papers where you have to stop to insert an equation every five seconds or less.  So let’s start with the basics

There are a few basic things you can always have stocked in your kitchen, even if you don’t want to cook alot or something for some strange reason.  There are some things which can satisfy even the pickiest of palates at a moments notice (unless they’re vegan or gluten-free in which case I haven’t figured out how to help you yet)

What I keep stocked in my kitchen in case I feel lazy or have to feed people

  • Crescent rolls or other canned biscuits.  These are great for pizza. Also keep random pizza toppings.  But you can either flatten the biscuits and make mini pizzas or press the seams together on the crescents and make a big pizza! Sprinkle cheese is another thing you should always have and you can always put random kinds of cheese on pizza–it doesn’t have to be mozzarella and a jar of pizza sauce is good to have around.  Or spaghetti sauce . It’s almost the same thing
  • Sprinkle Cheese.  This was addressed in the last one as well, but in addition to pizza it’s good for casseroles and pasta!  And yes by sprinkle cheese I mean shredded cheese.  Welcome to my world, learn the language
  • Frozen chicken/shrimp/fish.  I usually keep frozen chicken breasts stocked at all times, but I like to diversify occasionally.  These can be thawed and turned into delicious food, though usually it takes a little longer than biscuit dough pizzas.  If you’re not aware you’re going to be eating ahead of time you can either try and thaw them in the microwave or put them in a bowl with hot water. I typically use the hot water method because I seldom think ahead when it comes to cooking.  But you can cook this chicken and either eat it with seasonings on it and some sides, add it to pizza/pasta/casserole, or maybe put it on a sandwich? 
  • Cream of ____ soup.  Useful for casseroles or pasta.  You can mix this with rice or pasta and chicken and a vegetable and put it into a casserole dish and cover with cheese and bake until the cheese melts and voila, casserole. muy delicioso
  • Pasta/Rice.  These go with everything except sometimes potatoes.  Just saying.  I personally bought a rice cooker and a 25 lb bag of rice because my roommate and I go on binges where we eat rice as/with every meal.  Don’t judge, just accept
  • Frozen/canned vegetables.  I like the microwave steamer bags they have now but those cost more than bulk frozen veggies so it’s your call really.  I don’t know your financial situation.  But if you can’t afford to feed people or plan ahead I mean I guess maybe you either just don’t manage well or you don’t have moneys.  Regardless, as well as being a decent side for most meals these are nice add-ins for you pizza or casserole or pasta or rice or stirfry or what have you.  
  • Canned fruit.  In case you think I have left out breakfast/dessert, canned peaches or pears + crescent rolls = delicious things.

and with these ingredients you have the means to make most of what I lived off of during high school.  And notice it’s all stuff that keeps basically forever! 

Chicken Divante

^^not actually sure how my mom spells that

  • chicken–~3 pieces
  • cheddar cheese soup–1 can
  • frozen broccoli–1 cup?
  • rice (a few cups)
  • cheddar sprinkle cheese
  1. cook the chicken! if you haven’t thawed it, that’s not a big deal you can just chunk it in the oven at around 350 degrees.  But it cooks faster if you thaw it first so your call.  
  2. Cook the rice! by whatever means necessary.  I have a rice cooker, before that we used instant rice that cooked in the microwave because my family is cursed and incapable of making rice ourselves, whatever.
  3. During this time make sure the oven is preheated to 350 degrees.  It should already be there from your chicken but just make sure
  4. Follow the microwave instructions for cooking the broccoli.  Don’t have a microwave? too bad! make it on the stove.
  5. Once everything is cooked, chop the chicken and the broccoli and mix with the cheddar cheese soup.  At this point you have a choice.  You can mix the rice in or add later.  I think we usually add later.  Put your chicken broccoli soup mixture in a casserole dish and top with sprinkle cheese.  Bake in the oven until the cheese is melted. 
  6. Remove and serve over top of the rice!

Note: this can be made ahead of time and kept refrigerated, just stick the pan in the oven while it’s preheating so the heat shock doesn’t break your dishes

Note 2: The measurements are handwavy because it depends on the size of your dish and how many people you’re cooking for.  As a rule of thumb I would make 1 serving of each thing for each person you’re feeding (providing you’re feeding at least 3 people).  If you’re using a giant casserole dish I would consider adding more cheese soup.

Crescent Pizzas

Image

isn’t it beautiful?

This is the simplest thing ever

And fun for kids 🙂

  • pizza sauce
  • canned crescent rolls or canned biscuits
  • sprinkle cheese
  • toppings
  1. Preheat your oven to around 350
  2. Either lay out your biscuits and roll them flatter or lay out your crescent dough in a single sheet and pinch the sides together.  In the one pictures I kinda moved the triangles around a little for a better shape.  
  3. Cover with sauce
  4. Cover with cheese
  5. Cover with toppings
  6. Bake until the cheese is melted and yummy-looking
  7. EAT

For our pizza we topped it with fresh jalapenos and pepperoni, but I used to keep a jar of pickled banana peppers in the fridge for things like these

Fruit Pastry Thing

I wish I had a picture for this as it would help

Long story short 

  • Crescent Roll dough
  • Can of sliced peaches or pears
  1. Lay out crescent roll dough and pinch edges together so you have a solid rectangle of dough
  2. mentally separate the dough into 3 rectangles longways.  start with either the right or left rectangle and cut into thin strips, making sure to leave the middle solid.  Make sure you are looking at the rectangle with the shorter sides on the top and bottom and the longer sides the right and left. 
  3. Once both sides are cut into strips (picture tentacles coming from the center of the body of the dough) lay your peaches along the uncut center, leaving a couple of inches of space between the edges and the end peaches
  4. Fold the ends over onto the end peaches, then take the strips and criss-cross over the peaches all the way down. 
  5. Bake in the oven I want to say at 400 degrees until the dough is crispy.

I will try to get a picture of how to make this up since it’s hard to explain and it’s been awhile since I’ve done it

 

Leave a Reply

