Anime Mid-Atlantic Madness!

So I did promise pictures from AMA….and I will deliver! Just…a few weeks late.  You guys know me, I’m incapable of posting things when I’m supposed to.  I have to wait until I feel like I’m going to explode if I don’t share things with SOMEONE and am incapable of sharing with a present person (currently due to trying not to be distracting while my boyfriend works on important thesis things).  So I wait until the artistic urge strikes me and come visit this corner of the internet where I can interact with you lovely people! 

So the first day my sister and I cosplayed as Takuto and Meroko from Full Moon respectively.  Everyone seemed to love our costumes because apparently not many people cosplay from Full Moon even though everyone loves it!

 

 

 

Takuto and Meroko IMG_2548 IMG_2543 We took pictures of some pretty sick costumesIMG_2540

Jessi and David (I don’t remember his character name)IMG_2652 IMG_2546

We bought a bag of magical adventure! Which was perfect for where we were 🙂

IMG_2574  

And we attended the Cosplay Fashion show and took some fun pics

IMG_2560 IMG_2561 IMG_2563 IMG_2607 IMG_2579 IMG_2582 IMG_2584 IMG_2587 IMG_2590 IMG_2591 IMG_2598 IMG_2604  IMG_2612 IMG_2619 IMG_2620 IMG_2624

IMG_2635

Afterwards fooooodddd

IMG_2638

And silliness of course

IMG_2639

In addition to those things the first day we accidentally stumbled upon the Ouran Host Club’s Commoner Field Trip.  It was pretty fun even for Graham (who had no idea what it was about) but I was a little disappointed at some of the role-playing.  They were trying but some characters weren’t quite there (though I know it was pulled together at the last minute because they were having trouble finding some of the characters).  We also checked out the artist alley and accidentally stumbled into the Homestuck Q&A which was exciting since none of us follow Homestuck (except Graham waaayyy back) but they’re acting was so much more on spot and it was really cool!  Also I did their horns.  We also caught a little bit of the What Would You Do for Pocky game show which looked fun.  While waiting for the Pirate Legacy panel to start at some late hour we watched Space Adventure Cobra the Movie which was hilarious and explained that the universe is contained in boobs.  Also the pirate panel was cancelled and I was sad but anywhoo.

Day 2: Jessi, Graham, and I were from Pokemon! Umbreon, Ash, and Misty.  And we got a picture with Nurse Joy. David was L from Deathnote.  Some of the highlights of the day were the AMV contest which had some great entries (we loved the comedy ones especially), Anime Wheel of Fortune, Uncle Yo the geek comedian (you can follow his podcast We are the Geek on Itunes), Practical Science and how it Relates to the Paranormal where they accidentally melted a hole through the table with acid, Anime Mid-Atlantic the novel: LIVE! where a few authors got together and conceptualized a storyline based on answers given by the audience and are going to write the story and sell it at next year’s AMA, and especially the Detective Conan Murder panel.  David got really into this one like I thought he would since he’s super duper in Conan.  Plants in the audience helped enact a murder scene where the audience had to ask questions to figure out who the murderer was.  It got pretty intense at times and accusations ran wild.  Then we finished the night at the elecTRONic Mayhem rave which was pretty stellar and we made a new friend!

IMG_2642 IMG_2643 IMG_2644 IMG_2646 IMG_2647 IMG_2648

Day 3 we were exhausted.  After an absolutely awesome time at the Eien Strife Music Video Shoot we hung around to watch the Junko Fujiyama concert and attend the closing ceremonies.  Both Eien Strife and Junko Fujiyama were awesome and everyone should look them up.  Junko’s first song was the My Neighbor Totoro song >_<

IMG_2649

Jessi was Kairi from Kingdom Hearts on the 3rd day.  The rest of us were lame and didn’t really dress up though Graham and I both wore our Nightvale shirts.  The hat has nothing to do with the costume it was just super cute!

IMG_2651

 

All in all it was a blast! 10/10 would  convene again! I’m super psyched for AMA 1/2 in Richmond this year and as long as I remember it exists I will totally be there!  I just have to decide who to be! ^_^

One thought on “Anime Mid-Atlantic Madness!

  1. Hey, thanks for coming out to our Rave “elecTRONic Mayhem: Legacy”, we hope you had a blast! – DJ’s Jesse James Felice, Rob Lantz, & The Stig

Leave a Reply

