Souper Soups

I really need to post more about food I have made rather than my dream food but it’s not quite soup season! I’m starting to force it to be soup season next week and we’ll prolly have soup at least once a week after that until next Spring.  My sister and I are also plotting to have a soup party at my mom’s house sometime in the fall (this is a tradition my friends and I started a year or two ago). So let’s start the soup planning now! One of these soups will be the soup of the week next week.

Asiago Bisque

Asiago Bisque

Asiago Bisque... This soup is unbelievably delicious! It is so flavorful, delicious and unique! It will quickly become a new favorite!

Lookin’ all nice and creamy and cheesey and vegetabley and deliciousy and asiago is my favorite cheese and we have some in the fridge that’s going on my spiralizer fries for dinner tonight and om nom nom nom.

http://blog.seasonwithspice.com/2011/12/cream-of-mushroom-soup-recipe.html

Cream of Mushroom Soup

Homemade Mushroom Soup recipe by SeasonWithSpice.com

Mushrooms are my weakness.  All that umami goodness (I also just really like the word umami) as long as they’re cooked properly.  We made mushroom potstickers the other week and they were marvelous and we used the leftover filling as a kind of sauce additive on pizza another day. The sad thing is that mom doesn’t like mushrooms that much so I don’t get to use them alot at home so I’ve never actually had cream of mushroom soup as soup.  We use the campbells cream of mushroom soup in casseroles and as a filler for soups or for anything that requires it but we’ve never used it as cream of mushroom.  So I’m super excited to try this and then if we have leftovers I’m sure it can incorporate into something else the same way we do at home.

http://blog.seasonwithspice.com/2012/09/best-roasted-pumpkin-soup-recipe.html

Sweet and Smoky Roast Pumpkin Soup

Sweet and Smoky Roasted Pumpkin Soup recipe by SeasonWithSpice.com

I suppose I will actually have to wait until proper fall time to make this soup because it requires actual pumpkin not canned pumpkin.  But just you wait! I’m on a mission to find the perfect pumpkin soup and I think this looks like a winner (season with spice also tends to have great recipes).  Last year I made an apple pumpkin soup that was quite delicious which I actually preferred cold most of the time.  It had an interesting texture–not quite smooth– which I think went better with cold. Also I was afraid my thermos would explode in the microwave even though it SAYS it’s microwavable. This year I have a better blender and a dream of a perfectly creamy pumpkin soup.

Caribbean Chicken Soup and Parsley Dumplings

Carribean Chicken Soup and Parsley Dumplings

I think the big difference between this soup and regular soup is the coconut milk broth. It does have pumpkin (added bonus) so again I’ll have to wait on this one :(.  Other than that it appears to be a regular soup with regular soup things. The author of the post claims it tastes like the Caribbean but I’ve never tasted the Caribbean so I will have to take her word for it!

http://www.grubarazzi.com/2011/09/pho-heavens-sake.html

Homemade Chicken Pho

I super love pho but have never actually tried chicken pho.  I do need to take my sister on a pho adventure one day though and she will be partaking in chicken pho because she doesn’t eat red meat.  Graham and I have wanted to try making pho for awhile though because it’s delicious and if we can learn to make it I never have to leave the house ever ever again. I like my pho a little sweet and a little spicy and I love to eat the sprouts at the end because they’re crunchy and taste like water.

http://www.chasingsomebluesky.blogspot.com/2012/09/spinach-artichoke-soup.html

Spinach Artichoke Soup

Because yes I have always wanted to just eat the dip with a spoon.  I’m not sure how I feel about adding chicken but I’ll give it a go.  I ❤ spinach and artichoke dip even though I think artichoke hearts look kinda creepy.  They’re also a bit expensive I believe but we’ve only ever found them in the glass jars and this person has a can so maybe I can find it cheaper since I’m not shopping in small town Food Lion anymore. I keep seeing recipes like this for spinach artichoke soup and spinach artichoke macaroni and if it actually tastes like the dip my taste buds will be happy.

http://erecipecards.blogspot.com/2013/03/new-orleans-shrimp-and-artichoke-soup.html

New Orleans Shrimp and Artichoke Soup

speaking of artichoke soup….shrimp and new orleans! Both things that make things better.

Wonton Soup

Wonton Soup

Wonton Soup - A super easy, light and comforting wonton soup that you can make right at home - and it tastes 1000x better than ordering out!

Now I absolutely love making dumplings and baos and anything filled. Even though you always have to make like 90 million of them it’s so worth it. Wonton soup is delicious but at the chinese buffet it tends to be a few wontons and a few green onions and some simple broth and that’s about it.  I’d like a bit more to my soup and maybe some smaller wontons so I don’t have to struggle to eat them.

Sausage, Potato and Spinach Soup

Sausage Potato and Spinach Soup

Sausage, Potato and Spinach Soup - A hearty, comforting soup that's so easy and simple to make, loaded with tons of fiber and flavor! 329.5 calories.

Now this is a soup that I have made firsthand and loved.  My uncle made a similar one with kale in it that was modeled after something he had at Olive Garden. He was talking about craving it the other day and I was like ‘YAS SOUP MAKE EET.’  It’s got quite a bit of substance to it and has some added meat grease still in there which makes it mm mm good.

Slow Cooker New England Clam Chowder

Slow Cooker New England Clam Chowder

I can’t seem to get a picture to copy of this one.

Clam Chowder is another soup that I’ve had before and loved but have never made myself. Now that I live near the coast though I feel like I should learn to cook seafood (also I just love seafood) and this seems like a good dish to go for.  I don’t exactly know how to buy clams for clam chowder but I’m sure we can figure it out!

Chicken Cordon Bleu Soup

Chicken Cordon Blue Soup

Chicken Cordon Bleu Soup from chef-in-training.com …Oh. My. Gosh. This is seriously the best soup ever!

I’ve never actually had chicken cordon blue but I have had numerous things along those lines. Mom and I made a cordon bleu stuffed chicken breast that was really good which was basically chicken stuffed with ham wrapped around a cheese stick and then breaded. Yumz. I hope this soup tastes like that tasted but creamier. Also it has bacon.

Sweet Corn and Pepper Soup

Sweet Corn and Pepper Soup

Souper craving corn atm and was denied the ability to have corn on the cob tomorrow for dinner because the corn at food lion was grossies and not fresh.  I love creamed corn and this sounds like it’s allowing me to just eat a bowl of creamed corn but with jalapenos added which only makes things better!

http://www.cookingclassy.com/2013/10/chicken-pot-pie-soup-parmesan-drop-biscuits/

Chicken Pot Pie Soup with Parmesan Drop Biscuits

Creamy Chicken Pot Pie Soup | Cooking Classy

Sounds like comfort food to me

Dill Pickle Soup

Dill Pickle Soup

Dill Pickle Soup

Last but not least, this just sounds so weird that it might work.  It has dill pickles in the soup and dill pickle juice.  I loved to drink pickle juice when I was little (sounds weird I know) and this intrigues me.

Leave a Reply

