Prepping for Snowmageddon

 

So it’s snowing outside. All of DC is shutting down tonight and nothing will be open until Sunday. It’s Friday btw so that’s quite an accomplishment. Even the underground metro is shut down so employees don’t have to come in in the snow. These people really need to learn to deal with snow…

Stereotypically enough, the stores had super long lines yesterday because people needed bread and milk or milk substitute. We should have known better than to go to the store yesterday anyways. See what happened is that we bought stuff last weekend that we could eat if we lost power. We bought a ham, stuff for ham salad, poptarts, and cereal. But then I realized we had forgotten to get anything to eat if we DIDN’T lose power so we went back for soup ingredients! And I’ve spent the morningish time prepping for the soups we’re going to eat and making ghetto ham.

Ghetto Ham

1268527d-6039-4eae-a34f-d584e156098e

This is basically what happens when you don’t have a big crockpot because your boyfriend doesn’t want to get more cooking implements because of silly reasons like ‘you have so many’ and ‘where would we even put them’ and ‘we have a small kitchen.’

Also domo toaster is still cute, even though he hardly works anymore ^_^

So the recipe I’m using involves

  • spiral cut ham
  • 1 cup of brown sugar on the bottom of the slow cooker (it calls for 2 but that seemed excessive…and they said the recipe actually called for 3 which they thought was excessive)
  • pour the glaze stuff on top
  • pour a 20 oz can of pineapple pieces on that
  • pour 1 cup of ginger ale on that
  • 4-6 hours on low

I couldn’t fit the whole ham in the crockpot so I fashioned a lid out of cheap aluminum foil. I also really want to use up all the foil because I want better quality stuff. I’m afraid it’s not going to hold in the heat well but we’ll see

Leftover Ham

So I’m going to try to make Hambone soup and ham and potato soup. yums

Leftover Hambone Soup

http://momswithcrockpots.com/2011/12/crock-pot-ham-potato-soup/#_a5y_p=3605188

This will of course require power to remain on and I’ll need to clean the crockpot out more than once.

I’m also going to make ham salad in case of power outage and because I really missed having ham salad after Christmas this year.  Apparently ham salad isn’t a thing people eat here, and I also keep seeing recipes for ham salad on pinterest that’s made like chicken salad where you puree the ham or something… that is not what I’m doing

Ham Salad

  • 1 cup leftover ham (chopped)
  • 1 small box of elbow macaroni (cooked)
  • 1 block cheddar cheese (cubed)
  • Miracle whip or mayonnaise (~1/4-1/2 cup)
  • 3 stalks or so of celery
  • 1 can peas (we’re going to use edamame this time because Graham doesn’t like peas)
  • 1 tsp dried parsley

Mix it all together! Add salt and pepper to taste and maybe play around with the amounts of the ingredients. It tastes better after you let it sit overnight or for at least an hour so the flavors can mesh.

 

 

Update: The ham is ‘dripping everywhere, on everything, more places than I thought’ says Graham. I added another layer or 2 of foil so I think that’s helping the heat stay in. Now I at least know that it is in fact cooking. Yay!

4dd78e72-fada-4dd6-a231-ff528082343f

We’re also going to make chili!  Fire and Ice Chili to be precise, because you get to put icecream in that, so you have to buy icecream, so now we have icecream.

I went ahead and prepped the meat (just in case we lose power) and that’s probably going to be dinner on Sunday or Monday.

http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/fire-and-ice-ohio-chili?xid=pinsharebar

Unfortunately we couldn’t find dark chocolate ice cream :(. This is a real shame since that is my 2nd favorite flavor.  My 1st favorite flavor is white chocolate ice cream and you can’t really find that at the store either. Breyers used to sell a triple chocolate which was dark, regular, and white chocolate. I could have made my own if I had planned ahead I suppose but shhhh

Food will be made!

And finally, I baked a cake!

Cinnamon Streusel Coffee Bundt Cake

A Cinnamon Streusel Coffee Bundt cake to be precise. It’s kinda like the Sock-it-to-me cake mom makes (I know it’s spelled not like that but that’s what it sounds like so sue me).  I wanted to bake more but apparently every recipe calls for milk and I don’t want to use all the milk so we can still eat cereal if we lose power…

And I’m not posting a picture because I’m too lazy to go take the picture and then email it to myself.

Ha!

The end. We’re hopefully prepared for Snowmageddon. I can’t wait to play in the snow tomorrow! Did you know there are children out there who have never made a snow person? What is up with that!

3 thoughts on “Prepping for Snowmageddon

Leave a Reply

