Breakfast Game Day 1

So yesterday I went to the store and bought all the fruit I could find! Which sadly didn’t include bananas because Target didn’t have banaynays for some reason. But they did have strawberries and kiwis and mangoes! And I already had a pineapple b/c I’m planning to make pineapple guacamole this week (as soon as I obtain a jalapeno which Target also didn’t have). So today I started with the Strawberries and Cream smoothie bowl from Buzzfeed.

Displaying IMG_20160203_104055003.jpgDisplaying IMG_20160203_104055003.jpgsmoothie1

This is mine! I used the same basic recipe for the smoothie but I switched it up a bit for the toppings

Strawberries and Cream Smoothie Bowl Base

  • 1 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1/2 cup yogurt
  • 1/4 cup milk (I used almond)
  • 1 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla

Blend base ingredients until smooth. Transfer to a bowl. Top with desired toppings

Toppings

They suggest the following

  • 1/2 cup corn flakes cereal
  • 5 strawberries, sliced
  • 1/4 cup blueberries
  • 2 Tbsp almonds
  • 1 Tbsp pumpkin seeds
  • 1 tsp chia seeds

I used

  • 1/2 cup Golden Grahams (it’s what I had)
  • sliced strawberries
  • 2 Tbsp sliced almonds
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 2 Tbsp pumpkin pie granola (homemade)

 

And after mentioning my initial skepticism of smoothie bowls yesterday I ate my first one

dd1d08ca-dffb-4988-9cb5-bfbf79bbb07a

And this is what’s left now

smoothie3

IT WAS DELICIOUS

WHY DID I NOT TRY THIS SOONER

IT’S SOOOO GOOD

I was skeptical about why you would eat these instead of just having a smoothie but I’m officially a convert now. Or at least I will be enjoying both from now on rather than just one. I think the cereal made it for me, it was like cereal with smoothie instead of milk and it was awesome. I will officially be investing in more ingredients. I’m just hoping this doesn’t get too expensive since I used a half of a container of strawberries for this one. I’m going to go in search of a peach and some bananas on the way to work today (as well as that jalapeno) if I have time.

Tomorrow I want to try the second one on the list (Pineapple, banana, and peach)

Leave a Reply

