Breakfast Game Cont.

So I’m still really into smoothie bowls, but I kept forgetting for awhile there to post about them!

252acb6e-d471-4bcd-bafc-c4a89f6370f8

The Strawberries and Cream bowl is still my favorite atm. If you haven’t read my previous posts the recipe can be found here.  I like that this one holds the weight of the toppings really well and also it has the best flavor. This one is topped with strawberries, almonds, chia seeds, coconut, and golden grahams.

a67de323-0d2e-4455-91f0-9e7313cfa366

This is also from Buzzfeed.  I believe this is the Tropical Mango and Pineapple Smoothie Bowl.  I used almond milk instead of coconut water (because I still think coconut water is gross and also I don’t have any) and it turned out okay. I topped mine with kiwis, strawberries, mango, rice chex cereal, coconut, and chia seeds. I really like chia seeds. I wasn’t the biggest fan of the chex cereal with this one, it ended up tasting a bit bland. I’ve been searching for new cereals which might go well with smoothie bowls this week.

6b85c2e3-c774-42b9-9581-e53cfe8c02a8

This one i made on my own. I used frozen blackberry pulp from the asian market, yogurt, almond milk, and a banana. It was entirely too tart! I wish I had used some nut butter to get rid of that like the internet suggests but I thought that sounded really weird until Graham pointed out it’s probably like peanut butter and jelly.  So next time I’m going to try that! I still have half the bag left of the blackberry stuff and also a bag of makey pulp which is supposed to be really really good.

5712d91f-f6a9-4e87-a60b-a7e0afd4569c

I actually have no idea what this is. It might be a strawberries and cream bowl again. Or pineapple. No idea.

1a376899-6501-49a7-986e-d0031aa747a4

And finally, a Chocolatey Peanut Butter and Banana Smoothie Bowl. I like the idea of this one but I didn’t like how thin the smoothie base ended up being.  You can see how the bananas sank to the bottom. I also (again) wished for a more flavorful cereal.

I am experimenting with sweeter smoothie bowls this week though. I had a cinnamon roll smoothie bowl today using this recipe as the base. It was a little thin so I think next time I might add another banana and maybe decrease the amount of almond milk. I’ve also started adding protein powder to my smoothie bowls because the first week I started eating these I started feeling really gross and I’m pretty sure it was from lack of protein. I wasn’t really eating any meat and wasn’t accounting for that in any way. I’m trying to figure out what I need to be doing to improve my diet in terms of supplements and multivitamins and all those great things that my friends appear to already know about and be taking.  I’ve been trying to cut back on coffee drinks from starbucks due to budget constraints and health reasons (I really only like the espresso drinks which are full of milk and sugar) and I’m trying to use my diet to give me enough energy to make up for the lack of caffeine.

Leave a Reply

