You’re Toast Breakfast!

Forgive the punny title. I’m not sorry. But I am really into fun breakfast toast recipes. I’ve been a long time fan of avocado toast but I’ve been branching out lately in to the realm of goat cheese. So I’m planning to compile a list of recipes here (or at least ideas for toasts I can make) and attempt to try them all out!

Avocado Toast

  • Salad Toast – This is something I’ve made before. I slice half of an avocado and put it on the toast them top it with mixed greens or spinach and maybe some pumpkin seeds or walnuts
  • Salsa Egg – Spread mashed avocado then salsa (regular or fruit based) and top with a fried egg.
  • Regular Egg – I usually spread mashed avocado and top with a slice of whatever cheese is on hand then a fried egg on top which melts the cheese a little. Often I sprinkle salt and pumpkin seeds on top.
  • Everything Bagel – Cream cheese, avocado slices, and everything bagel seasoning

Goat Cheese or Ricotta Toast

  • Honey Walnut Toast – This can be warmed in the oven if you want but I usually don’t bother. I spread the bread with goat cheese and top with roughly chopped walnuts and drizzle with honey. Mmm Mmm good.
  • Ricotta Toast with Pears and Honey – Haven’t tried this one yet but it looks good. I might sub goat cheese just because it’s something I keep around more.
  • Strawberry and Edamame – Buzzfeed suggests peanut butter topped with strawberry slices and edamame then drizzled with balsalmic and sprinkled with sea salt. I’m not sure how I feel about the edamame but I’d be willing to try it out.
  • Mango – Either slices of fresh mozarella or either goat cheese or ricotta topped with thick slices of mango and lime zest and salt
  • Jammmm – The easiest and my go to: goat cheese and fruit jam. Could also use crushed fresh berries in place of jam.

Nut Butter Toast

  • Sliced Banana and Chia Seed – I feel like this is pretty self explanatory. Over almond or peanut butter
  • Ants on a Log – This is a brilliant idea. Thin sliced celery and raisins (or craisins) on peanut butter toast. Yes.
  • PB& Fruit – Sliced apples or strawberries or really anything.

Other Musings

  • Pumpkin – I’m surprised I couldn’t find any pumpkin based toasts online. I feel like either pumpkin puree along with the cheeses or avocado would but delicious in a savory way or pumpkin butter could pair with one of the cheeses as well. I’d rather go for a savory but I need to figure out what I want to mix the pumpkin with so it’s not too soggy.

Leave a comment